So Here I Am, Hello World!

Okay, so this is my first attempt at a blog.  I’m really not sure who my audience will be, who will be interested in what I have to say, or the project  I am currently working on – but here I am giving it a try. 

Two and a half years ago, I retired from a 25 year-long career with the railroad and decided to move West.  I’m still  not sure if this move was the right one for me, but with the economy the way it is, I have no choice but to stay put.   So I find myself in the Sonoran High Desert of Southern Arizona, this place has a certain wild beauty to it – the sunrises and sunsets are magnificent and the night sky is so full of stars you think you can reach up and grab them.  Thankfully, I have not encountered any snakes, but I must say I have had several scorpions in my house as well as a brown spider.

I was born and raised on the south shore of Long Island, New York so Arizona is a completely different world for me.  I have seen many coyotes walking in the desert outside my breakfast nook window, lots of quail and their families, loads of hummingbirds and hawks.  I love the colors of the desert, especially in the spring time.  Right now the cactus are in bloom.  It truly is beautiful – but if truth be told – it is quite lonely.  And this loneliness has encouraged me to start a small business creating custom designed pieces and teaching the art of stained glass and mosaic art.   

My intent with this blog is to tell about some of my adventures and absolutely the work I am doing when the adventures begin to pale.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. storiesfromthestove
    May 10, 2010 @ 22:43:14

    Brava! Bravo! Bravissimo!

    Reply

  2. Tami
    May 11, 2010 @ 23:49:59

    Great job, Arlene!

    Accolades, accolades. Lovely!
    How do I sign up for the blog? Oh there it is, done.

    Congrats!

    Reply

  3. storiesfromthestove
    May 12, 2010 @ 00:41:46

    Great. How do we sign up?

    Reply

    • Arlene
      May 12, 2010 @ 01:02:06

      At the very bottom of the blog there is a box that can be checked to subscribe to my blog. You must, however, leave your email address in the comment section of the blog. Whenever I post a new blog, you will then be notified by email.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

