Why Stained Glass and Mosaic Art?

A long time ago, I had purchased an old Victorian Home in northern New Jersey.  This home once had a stained glass transom window in the dining room, but at the time of my purchase there was an ugly huge air conditioner hanging from the wall where the window had been removed.

Many years were spent restoring the old beauty back to her original glory.  Much time was spent searching for a replacement stained glass panel –  but no such panel was to be found.  A trip to several local Stained Glass Shops in New Jersey were helpful, but, oh, the cost to have a panel created that large was quite high.  I had almost given up hope on ever replacing the stained glass, which by this time was replaced by a simple plate-glass window, when my son’s girlfriend, Diana suggested I join her and her Mom in Stained Glass classes.

I took classes and when the five beginner classes were finished, I continued to attend evening “workshops” in  The Glass Gallery in Nutley, New Jersey.  I created several obligatory pieces and then moved on to designing a panel along with the help of Patty, the proprietor of The Glass Gallery.

Grandma's CameoThis window remained in the dining room of that house until I sold the home.  The new owners of the property did not want to purchase the window so it is now displayed on the fireplace mantle in my home in Arizona.

Once I created this particular piece of glass, I was hooked.  Here was yet another way I could express my creative side in a totally different medium.

I have a small business here in Arizona designing, creating and teaching both arts – stained glass and mosaic art.  Please visit my website at http://www.mamzelle-du-m-stained-glass.com/

Stained glass led me into mosaic art.  To my way of thinking it is just another extension of stained glass, that is, when creating  mosaics using scraps of glass.

I have created garden stepping-stones and mosaic “pictures” in rustic frames; and I am currently working on tesserae mosaic tile murals on the wall in my backyard.

Cactus Flower Mosaic Wall Art

Having always been a tactile person with a bent for creativity, stained glass and mosaic art has allowed me to express myself in a way charcoal, pencil, paint and paper has not.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. storiesfromthestove
    May 12, 2010 @ 00:45:44

    Terrific. More of this kind of work, please.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

