Our Lady of Guadalupe Mosaics

Living here in the Desert Southwest, there are many reminders of the deep devotion the Mexican population has for Our Lady of Guadalupe.  I, actually have just learned that Our Lady of Guadalupe is the Patroness of the Americas.  Click on the link if you are interested in her story. 

http://www.sancta.org/intro.html 

I have been so inspired by this story that I have created several mosaics of the Madonna.  This particular mosaic was made for my gardener; he purchased it as a Christmas present for his wife.  I then replicated the mosaic design in another frame as a gift for a dear friend who just had surgery.  Her mosaic now hangs in her home just outside her bedroom.

 

After creating the full figure of Our Lady of Guadalupe, I wanted more detail in the facial expression.  I then drew a pattern of the Madonna from the waist up, cut the glass and created the following mosaic which is now hanging in my home.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. storiesfromthestove
    May 15, 2010 @ 01:47:03

    I like the way you weave the historical and the personal into your work, Arlene. i find that compelling.

    Reply

  2. Phylis J. D'Onofrio
    May 18, 2010 @ 19:38:39

    great job

    Reply

  3. Phylis J. D'Onofrio
    May 18, 2010 @ 19:39:42

    Good job Arlene

    Reply

Leave a Reply

