The Savannah Bird Girl Mosaic

I fell in love with the city of Savannah, Georgia in May of 1996 when my son, Paul Graduated from Parris Island Marine Corps Training.  Naturally, being a typical proud Momma, I travelled to the graduation ceremonies and stayed in the fabulous city of Savannah at the River Street Inn on historic River Street.  http://www.riverstreetinn.com/

During the time of my visit, the book “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil” was very popular.  The cover of the novel is a picture of the sculpture known as the Bird Girl that was created in 1936 by sculptress Sylvia Shaw Judson in Lake Forest, Illinois. It achieved fame when it was featured on the cover of the 1994 novel.

Recently, I designed a stained glass pattern of the Bird Girl and had planned to create a sizeable window hanging.  But now that I am working in my yard, I decided to convert the pattern into that of a stained glass mosaic for the wall.  Despite the 100 plus degree temps outside, I have completed the mosaic and wish to share the finished result with you, my blog followers.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. storiesfromthestove
    Jul 04, 2010 @ 16:20:26

    Very nice back-story and finished piece, Arlene. I suppose one never knows where and when inspiration will present itself.
    Charlie

    Reply

  2. Tami
    Jul 04, 2010 @ 22:40:15

    Absolutely, gorgeous!
    You need to come to Santa Fe. The artists here would inspire, along with the light and views!

    Reply

  3. Tami
    Jul 04, 2010 @ 22:41:06

    You really do not need inspiration, pretty creative yourself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

