Van Gogh’s Starry Night – Arlene’s Interpretation in Tesserae Mosaic Tiles

I’ve been working on this mosaic for some time now.   I placed the piece on the west wall in my garden where the sun can show if off for most of the day.  But that location proved to be quite a hard location to work at.  The sun rises over the mountains at about 6 am and brightens the chosen wall.  Up until about 8 am, the Palo Verde tree shades the area where I was working, and then BAM, blinding sunlight and a nice warmth that quickly grows blistering hot. 

For that reason, every stage of this mosaic took much longer than it should have taken.  Prepping the wall was a painstakingly long process.  The thin-set dried quickly, so I could only set one small portion each day.  The grout dried too quickly, again I was only able to complete a small portion each day having to grout a 12 inch square then sponge it off with lightening speed. 

 I wrote a post about creating this mosaic pattern back in June and how Don McLean’s song “Vincent” haunted me during the creative process.  Well, the song continued to play in my mind while I was working – sometimes I even heard myself singing “Starry, starry night; paint your palate blue and gray……” 

Now I’m sure I understand what he tried to say to me!  And having said that, here is a picture of the finished piece, what do you think?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tami
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 00:27:11

    Absolutely Beautiful!
    Maybe Don was channeling paint or grout it on a starry night!

    See you soon!

    Reply

    • Arlene
      Aug 06, 2010 @ 01:59:57

      Tami, when you get back to town, we’ll have to have some wine on the patio so you can see it in person. I don’t want to brag, but…..I’m really pleased with how this came out. Ciao!

      Reply

  2. Nelson
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 01:34:39

    Arlene, it’s beautiful work! Bravo!

    Reply

    • Arlene
      Aug 06, 2010 @ 02:01:33

      Nelson, thanks, this mosaic was the most fun for me to create. I’m working on designing a field of poppies for the next tesserae. Talk to you soon, amigo! Ciao.

      Reply

  3. Bonnye
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 00:19:27

    Absolutely beautiful!

    Reply

    • Arlene
      Aug 12, 2010 @ 01:35:20

      Bonnye,
      Thank you so much. I must say this piece stirred up some “serious emotions” in me. I am glad you enjoyed it. Hope you subscribed to the blog, it’s another fun thing I have gotten into. (Remember, how much I loved to talk, well, somethings never change – just the medium does). Arlene

      Reply

  4. Bonnye
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 00:20:02

    Absolutely beautifully gorgeous!!!

    Reply

  5. Peter Fanning
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 13:30:59

    Hi Arlene, hope your camino is going well for you. Am enjoying your posts and wish you well for the rest of your journey. We are in Leon, walking out tomorrow, being challenged by injury, but loving every minute. Buen camino, Maggie and Pete

    Reply

Leave a Reply

