The Field of Poppies Mosaic

Today I finished grouting the Field of Poppies.  This mosaic was fun from the beginning to the end of the project.  My inspiration for this mosaic came from all the beautiful poppies that bloomed here in the desert this spring.  It seemed that every place I wandered, poppies were in bloom.  One day I came upon the idea of creating a mosaic that I called The Field of Poppies.  Creation of the pattern was fun, although I will admit it kept growing in size as I added another flower. 

My original intention was to mount it on the Easterly wall in my garden.  But, as it turned out, it was too tall to fit on that wall without losing too much of the leaves on the bottom of the panel.  I then decided to place it on the North wall.  Actually this was a great choice since it is in full view through the great room window.

I am quite pleased with the completed work.  I’m working toward having enough panels to take an advertisement in one of the local mailings to possibly generate some work for myself.  So far, I have four tesserae mosaics and three stained glass mosaics mounted on my garden wall. 

I have created two more mosaic patterns; a large sunflower on a blue sky background and my rendition of “Tour née du Chat Noir” by Rodolphe Salis.  But first I am commissioned to create a stained glass sun catcher for an alumnus of mine.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sixties America
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 00:18:39

    Commissioned to create a sun catcher for an alum? I’m impressed.
    And for us ignorami, what is a sun catcher? Maybe you could do a post for the unitiated that explains some of this stuff, Arlene. I’d be interested in learning a thing or two.
    Charlie

    Reply

    • Arlene
      Sep 30, 2010 @ 00:30:27

      It will be a small window hanging (sun catcher) of the Bowling Green emblem. No, she is not a BG Alum, but her man is. It will be a Christmas gift. I will post a pic when it is completed.

      Reply

  2. Arlene
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 00:36:37

    Charlie, do you really think my readers would be interested in explanations of the art?
    If so, I guess I could write about how I create my stained glass, I just never thought about the mechanics of the art as being worthy of a post. Comments and suggestions are always welcomed from you and anybody else who wishes to leave them Talk to me.

    Reply

  3. deb
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 01:09:17

    Looks awesome kid. Great work as usual. Like Ur new profie picture. You definately lost weight in that picute you Hottie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

