The Kokopelli

I’m not much for kitschy Southwestern art, but most people living in the Desert Southwest are into this type of artwork.  I caved and created a kokopelli mosaic for garden wall.

My intentions are to have a local photographer create a magazine layout for the advertisement of my work.  If you follow my  blog, you know most of my work both in glass and mosaic, is nature inspired.  In glass, I particularly like creating wild animals; in mosaic, I mostly create flowers or replications of French posters.  But hopefully to attain outside work, I am adding to the gallery on my garden wall some of the more common Southwestern themes that so many desert dwellers seem to admire.

This winter brought three nights of 12 degree temperatures to my part of the desert.  Many plants were frozen and just did not return this spring.  I had to have the gardeners remove about 50 feet of vine that covered a good portion of the North wall in my garden.  I guess this was fortuitous because now I am left with significantly more “canvas” for my mosaic work.  The kokopelli is complete and installed on that wall and I am now working on a desert sunset for another section of the same wall.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    May 01, 2011 @ 09:24:57

    Arlene, I realy love what you’ve created. I think this may be my favorite…………so far, because I know there is so much more to come from you. Great job!

    Love you sister-friend

    Reply

    • Arlene
      May 01, 2011 @ 16:34:03

      The mosaic I have been putting together I’m sure you will also like. I think with each new design, I get a bit better. Thanks for the compliment! Love you sister-friend!

      Reply

  2. Tami
    May 01, 2011 @ 15:28:26

    Lovely, just remember he is the naughty man. Fertility is his specialty.
    Hmm, could be a very good thing:)

    He is the most tasteful kitsch!

    Reply

    • Arlene
      May 01, 2011 @ 16:35:33

      Tami, naughty is real nice – fertility for me is a bit scary. See you real soon, hopefully the sunset will be on the wall by then.

      Reply

  3. Patricia Beaulac
    May 01, 2011 @ 17:41:31

    Looks great. I hope you get more business.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

