The Desert Sunset

This morning I finished grouting my latest panel.  I am quite pleased with this creation, having this time used a different type of  mosaic tile.  This piece is 4 feet wide and 3 feet tall consisting of approximately 10,000 3/8 inch Crystal Murrini tiles.  I chose these tiles  for the multiplicity of color they provided and have been rewarded with the extra sparkle of light reflected.

My main purpose in creating this mural was to use it as an advertisement of my work.  I would like very much to be creating “art” for other’s yard walls and it seems to me that most desert dwellers gravitate to Southwestern Art.  I’m thinking the reason might be because so many Arizonan’s are transplants from other states, just like me.

So now, my next task is to contact a photographer to have him capture some images to create an advertisement for several local magazines.  I have several flowers, some replicas of famous paintings and now some Southwestern themes.  And then…….. Hope the commissions start rolling in.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Doris Muller-Schroeder
    May 05, 2011 @ 18:52:12

    Arlene – It is just beautiful. I never knew you were so talented. I think I remember you mostly from Broad Street – I think you sat behind the Benefits Department – right? That was certainly a long time ago. I thought you were coming back to NJ, but it looks like it’s a much more beautiful place out there. Stay well……and Peace. Doris

    Reply

    • Arlene
      May 09, 2011 @ 16:29:23

      Doris, ah yes many moons ago I worked in the Personnel Department for NJT. Unfortunately though I stayed for 25 years, none of my creative talents were ever exposed.
      I had wanted to move back to NJ, but God had different plans for me – he didn’t allow my house to sell! I am still waiting patiently to see what is in His plan for me. In the meantime, I will continue to create art and hopefully I will get a commission or two.

      Reply

  2. RPH
    May 06, 2011 @ 12:08:31

    Love it Arlene! Beautiful just like you!

    Hugs,

    Reply

  3. Maggie
    May 09, 2011 @ 14:27:13

    I envy your talent Arlene! It is, like the other things I’ve seen from you, just beautiful…you must get such a feeling of accomplishment from your work and the beauty in it. Yes, commisions should roll in after they view this!

    Reply

    • Arlene
      May 09, 2011 @ 16:24:50

      Thanks so much, Maggie. I have always had a bent for creating art and I just love working with my hands. I am especially finding gratification in tesserae mosaic work. Actually, the universe continues to expose to me new palettes and I just imagine how I can make the blank palette prettier. I guess having so much time on my hands allows the creative juices to flow. And yes, hopefully commissions will roll in!

      Reply

  4. Dave Ebright
    May 22, 2011 @ 19:28:22

    Amazing stuff – you gotcha some talent lady. Heard the good news about your work from Deb, but won’t spoil it for your blog followers, but congratulations. Looks like you’re in your element out there. We’re where we’re supposed to be.

    Reply

    • Arlene
      May 30, 2011 @ 09:10:55

      Thanks for the compliments Dave. Yes I am believing I am exactly where I am meant to be! Thanks for “Reckless Endeavor”, can’t wait to dive in.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

